• May 3Last day of school for seniors will be Friday, May 27
  • May 2Last day of school for students will be Tuesday, June 21
  • October 16Wayland High School to offer free lunches for all students for the entire 2021-2022 school year
The student news site of Wayland High School

Wayland Student Press

The student news site of Wayland High School

Wayland Student Press

The student news site of Wayland High School

Wayland Student Press


National Scholastic Press Association

NSPA is a nonprofit membership organization exclusively for high school and other secondary school publications - yearbooks, newspapers, magazines, broadcast programs, and online publications. Since 1921, it has offered members resources to help their publications improve, including national high school journalism conventions, prestigious contests and scholarships, a publication critique service, and much more. (Source: http://studentpress.org/nspa/)
2008 Pacemaker Award Winner
2008 Spring Convention Best of Show: 5th Place
2009 Pacemaker Award Winner
2009 Spring Convention Best of Show: 6th Place
2009 Fall Convention Best of Show: 3rd Place
2010 Pacemaker Award Winner
2010 Spring Convention Best of Show: 1st Place
2011 Pacemaker Award Winner
2011 Spring Convention Best of Show: 2nd Place
2012 Spring Convention Best of Show: 1st Place
2013 Pacemaker Award Winner
2013 Spring Convention Best in Show: 2nd Place
2014 Pacemaker Award Winner
2016 Pacemaker Award Finalist
2017 Pacemaker Award Finalist
2018 Pacemaker Award Winner
2018 Spring Convention Best of Show: 6th Place
2019 Spring Convention Best of Show: 4th Place
2020 Pacemaker Award Winner
2020 Convention Best of Show: 1st Place
2021 Pacemaker Award Winner

WSPN is part of NSPA's top 100 Pacemaker award winners. To celebrate its centennial year, National Scholastic Press Association announced its top 100 Pacemaker award winners yesterday. The Pacemaker 100 represents a one-time snapshot of the top 100 publications recognized in the competition during its history. First presented in 1927 as the Pace-Maker, the Pacemaker awards are now recognized as the top prizes in scholastic journalism. They honor the very best scholastic broadcasts, literary arts magazines, newspapers/newsmagazines, online publications, specialty magazines and yearbooks.(Source: http://studentpress.org/nspa/)

Columbia Scholastic Press Association

Founded in 1925, the Association unites student editors and faculty advisers working with them to produce student newspapers, magazines, yearbooks and online media. Students come from public, private and church-related schools and colleges throughout the United States and from overseas schools following an American plan of education. The Association is owned by Columbia University and operated as a program affiliated wth its Graduate School of Journalism. (Source: http://cspa.columbia.edu/who-we-are)
2009 Gold Crown Award Winner
2010 Gold Crown Award Winner
2011 Gold Crown Award Winner
2012 Gold Crown Award Winner
2013 Gold Crown Award Winner
2018 Silver Crown Award Winner
2019 Silver Crown Award
2021 Gold Crown Winner

Individual Awards

Nathan Zhao 2018 Al Neuharth Free Spirit and Journalism Conference Massachusetts Representative
Nathan Zhao 2019 Massachusetts Journalist of the Year
Suffolk University Journalism & Media Award
Lauren MedeirosNSPA Special Award for COVID-19 Coverage

The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet. Established in 1996 during the Web's infancy, the Webbys are presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, which includes an Executive 750-member body of leading Web experts, business figures, luminaries, visionaries and creative celebrities, and Associate Members who are former Webby Award Winners and Nominees and other Internet professionals.
2009 Webby Peoples Voice Award - Student Category
2010 Webby Official Honoree - Student Category
2010 Webby Official Honoree - School/University Category

New England Scholastic Press Association

The New England Scholastic Press Association aims to foster excellence in scholastic journalism. This Association encourages high standards in student journalism, supports the interests of students and teachers in the student press in the New England states, and fosters a closer relationship among students and advisers interested and engaged in student journalism. Workshops, conferences, on-site critiques and contests are among the Association’s efforts to educate student journalists and their advisers. (Source: http://blogs.bu.edu/nespa/about/)
2010 All New England Award - Online Category
2011 All New England Award - Online Category
Charlie Moore2017 Localizing News Journalism Award
2017 All New England
2020 All New England
Distinguished Site 2018-2019

Quill & Scroll International Writing, Photo and Multimedia Individual Awards

Caterina Tomassini
Taylor McGuire
Donate to Wayland Student Press
Our Goal

Activate Search