News Brief: WSPN wins third consecutive Pacemaker Award


Credit: Sarah Lee

On Saturday, April 9, the Wayland Student Press Network won another Pacemaker Award. The award was presented by the National Student Press Association.

Taylor McGuire

On April 9, the Wayland Student Press Network (WSPN) won its third consecutive Pacemaker Award at the National High School Journalism Convention in Los Angeles, California. The Pacemaker Award honors the nation’s best news sites.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) Executive Director Laura Widmer said. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

On March 3, NSPA named WSPN one of 47 Pacemaker finalists. WSPN is one of 20 news sites, big and small, to be named as a Pacemaker winner. WSPN is one of four news sites on the east coast to be named a Pacemaker winner.