News Brief: Wayland senior named U.S. Presidential Scholar


Credit: Taylor McGuire

Out of over 5,300 applicants, Wayland High School senior Amelia Ao was named a U.S Presidential Scholar.

Taylor McGuire

Wayland High School senior Amelia Ao was named a U.S. Presidential Scholar along with 161 other seniors in the U.S. for her accomplishments that she has demonstrated as a student. Scholars are chosen based on academic achievements, artistic or technical excellence, impressive transcripts, school evaluation and more.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars has chosen scholars annually for the past 56 years, and Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos announced the selected scholars on May 21, 2020.

One male and one female are chosen from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and American students living abroad to be a scholar. Moreover, 15 more seniors are chosen at-large, 20 are chosen for artistic excellence and 20 are chosen for career and technical education. Among over 5,300 qualified applicants, only 161 students were selected to be named U.S. Presidential Scholars.

Generally, the scholars would be honored at the White House; however, COVID-19 will most likely alter the usual routine.