Wayland Student Press

  • Vice Principal James Nocito to retire

  • Wrestling wins quad meet against Keefe Tech, Lexington and Holliston on Saturday 12/8

  • Seniors Rachel Chau, Sid Iyer, Andy Wang, junior Tristan Wolff recognized with All-Eastern musical honors

  • Wayland prohibits recreational marijuana shops

  • BREAKING: School Committee votes for 8:35 a.m. to 3:10 p.m. WHS schedule, shorter Wednesdays to remain

  • Second vote for WHS Athletic Complex Renovation project postponed from November to April


March 2007Idea development
April 6, 2007Robin Kim founds WSPN
April 27, 2007WSPN launches a promotional webpage
May 1, 2007Site first opens to the public
May 3, 2007Howard Owens and other media specialists blog about WSPN
September 10, 2007Wayland Student Press created for news, WSPN.TV for online broadcasting
April 19, 2008Wayland Student Press wins the Online Pacemaker Award
May 2, 2008WaylandENews begins to link to WSPN content
June 20, 2008WSPN creates WSP Gallery for photography
Summer, 2008Total site redesign
September 2008WSPN brings a new journalism course to Wayland High School
October 10, 2008First weekly e-mail newsletter sent out to WSPN subscribers
November 5, 2008WSPN combines its divisions’ separate websites into one
January 3, 2009WSPN creates WSPN Blogs for student blogging
February 4, 2009WSPN puts 52″ display in the Commons for public viewing and computer kiosk for interaction
March 20, 2009Wayland Student Press wins the Gold Crown Award
April 18, 2009WSPN picks up the Pacemaker once again
May 5, 2009WSPN wins the Webby People’s Voice Award
May 5, 2009NECN (Comcast 6 | FiOS 115) reports on WSPN – 9:30pm Cover Story
Summer 2009Site re-designed by new Co-Editors-in-Chief, Dave Ryan and Melanie Wang
January 2010WSPN publishes its first advertisement
March 19, 2010CSPA Gold Crown awarded to WSPN
April 17, 2010WSPN receives Pacemaker Award and 1st place in the Best in Show competition
May 2010WSPN is designated Webby Official Honoree in Student and School/University categories.
December 20101,000th story published on WSPN
March 2011WSPN wins the CSPA Gold Crown Award
April 2011WSPN wins the NSPA Pacemaker Award and places second in the Best of Show competition.
Summer 2011Site re-designed by new Co-Editors-in-Chief, Evan Barber and Matthew Gutschenritter
March 2012WSPN wins the CSPA Gold Crown Award
April 2012WSPN places first in the NSPA Best of Show competition
May 2012WSPN turns over to the new Co-Editors-in-Chief, Jake Adelman and Kruti Vora
March 2013WSPN wins the CSPA Gold Crown Award
May 2013WSPN turns over to the new Co-Editors-in-Chief, Alex Erdekian, Martin Narciso and Lizzy Worstell
April 2014WSPN wins the NSPA Pacemaker Award
May 2014WSPN turns over to the new Co-Editors-in-Chief, Whitney Halperin and Mia Senechal
May 2015WSPN turns over to the new Co-Editors-in-Chief, Angela Park and Elena Erdekian
May 2016WSPN turns over to the new Co-Editors-in-Chief, Meg Trogolo and Nandita Subbiah
May 2017WSPN turns over to the new Co-Editors-in-Chief, Janani Gandhi, Isabel Gitten and Duncan Stephenson
November 2017WSPN is re-designed by graphic designer Peter Moore and webmaster Andrew Mitty.
March 2018WSPN wins the CSPA Silver Crown Award
April 2018WSPN wins the NSPA Pacemaker Award
May 2018WSPN turns over to the new Co-Editors-in-Chief, Hannah Rice and Nathan Zhao

The student news site of Wayland High School